General Terms and Conditions of Assignment

 This is a translation of the German “Allgemeine Auftragsbedingungen”, which is the sole authoritative version

 [Translator’s notes are in square brackets]

 

1. Scope

 (1) The Terms and Conditions of Assignment shall apply to the contracts between VALNES Corporate Finance GmbH (hereinafter referred to as "VALNES") and its clients, unless terms to the contrary have been expressly agreed to in writing or are required by law.

(2) If, in exceptional cases, contractual relations are also established between VALNES and persons other than the client, the provisions of the following No. 8 shall also apply to such third parties.

 

2. Scope and execution of the contract

 (1) The subject of the contract is the agreed performance of services, not a specific economic success. The assignment will be carried out with appropriate technical and professional expertise and by applying current knowledge and experience. VALNES reserves the right to select the staff providing the services (including whether employed and/or freelance) during the course of the project, provided that the proper and timely fulfilment of the assignment is guaranteed.

(2) The consideration of foreign law requires an express written agreement.

(3) Events of force majeure that make it considerably more difficult or impossible for VALNES to perform its obligations, entitle VALNES to postpone the fulfilment of its obligations for the duration of the hindrance and for a reasonable lead time. Strikes, lock-outs and similar circumstances that directly or indirectly affect VALNES shall be considered as force majeure.

 

3. Client's duty to inform

 (1) The client shall ensure that all documents necessary for the execution of the order are submitted to VALNES in good time, even without special request, and that VALNES is informed of all processes and circumstances that may be of importance for the execution of the assignment. This also applies to documents, procedures and circumstances that only become known in the course of VALNES’s work.

(2) At the request of VALNES, the client shall confirm the completeness of the documents submitted and of the information and explanations given in a written declaration drafted by VALNES.

 

4. Reporting and oral information

 If VALNES and the client agree that the results of VALNES' activities are to be presented in writing, only the written presentation shall be authoritative. Oral statements and information from employees outside the placed order are always non-binding.

      

5. Protection of intellectual property

 Documents, document templates, forms, work equipment, files and similar provided by VALNES may only be used by the client for its own purposes. VALNES shall be entitled to use general ideas, concepts, models and experience as it sees fit and to make them available to third parties without this giving rise to licence and compensation claims on the part of the client or violating the agreed confidentiality.

 

6. Distribution of reports and other written statements

 (1) The passing on of statements and opinions of VALNES (reports, expert opinions, presentations, memos and the like) to a third party requires the written consent of VALNES, unless the content of the order already indicates consent for passing on to a specific third party. VALNES shall only be liable to a third party (within the scope of No. 8) if this has been agreed in writing and the third party accepts the terms and conditions of assignment.

(2) The use of results or statements of VALNES for advertising purposes is not permitted; a violation shall entitle VALNES to terminate without notice all orders of the client not yet executed.

 

7. Correction of deficiencies

 (1) In the event of any deficiencies, the client is entitled to supplementary performance by VALNES. Only in the event of failure of the supplementary performance, he may also demand a reduction of the remuneration or revocation of the contract. Insofar as claims for damages exist beyond this, No. 8 shall apply.

(2) The claim for correction of deficiencies must be asserted by the client in writing without delay. Claims according to paragraph (1), which are not based on an intentional act, shall become statute-barred after the expiry of one year from the beginning of the statutory limitation period.

(3) Obvious inaccuracies, such as typing errors, arithmetical errors and formal deficiencies [formelle Mängel] contained in a comment or other statement (report, expert opinion and the like) by VALNES may be corrected at any time by VALNES, also towards third parties. Any inaccuracies that may call into question the conclusions contained therein shall entitle VALNES to withdraw the statement to third parties also.

  

8. Liability

 (1) The limitation of liability of VALNES will be agreed individually with the client within the scope of a project contract.

(2) Preclusive periods

A claim for damages can only be asserted within a preclusive period of one year after the person entitled to claim has become aware of the damage and of the event giving rise to the claim, but at the latest within 5 years after the event giving rise to the claim. The claim expires if no legal action is taken within a period of six months after the written rejection of the compensation and the client has been informed of this consequence. The right to assert the plea of limitation remains unaffected.

 

9. Confidentiality, obligation of secrecy towards third parties, data protection

 (1) VALNES is obliged to treat business and trade secrets confidentially and not to pass on or otherwise use other knowledge and information to third parties, insofar they are not obvious, unless the client releases it from this obligation of secrecy. VALNES will impose a corresponding obligation on its employees. The obligation of secrecy remains in force even after termination of the contract.

(2) VALNES may only hand over reports, expert opinions and other written statements on the results of its activities to third parties with the consent of the client.

(3) VALNES is authorised to process or have processed by third parties personal data entrusted to it within the scope of the purpose stipulated by the client.

 

10. Default of acceptance and failure to cooperate on the part of the client

 If the client is in default of acceptance of the service offered by VALNES or if the client fails to provide the assistance required by No. 3 or otherwise, VALNES is entitled to terminate the contract without notice. VALNES' right to claim compensation for additional expenses incurred as a result of the default or failure to cooperate on the part of the client, as well as the damage caused, shall remain unaffected, even if VALNES does not exercise its right to terminate the contract.

 

11. Remuneration

 (1) VALNES shall be entitled to reimbursement of its expenses in addition to its claims for fee or charge; value added tax shall be charged additionally. VALNES may demand reasonable advances on remuneration and reimbursement of expenses and may make the rendering of its services dependent on the full satisfaction of its claims. Several clients are liable as joint and several debtors.

(2) A set-off against claims of VALNES for remuneration and reimbursement of expenses shall only be permitted in the case of undisputed or legally established claims.

           

12. Storage and release of documents

 (1) VALNES shall retain for ten years the documents handed over to it in connection with the execution of an order and prepared by itself as well as the correspondence concerning the order.

(2) After settlement of its claims arising from the assignment, VALNES must, at the request of the client, return all documents which it has received from or on behalf of the client in connection with its activities for the execution of the assignment. However, this shall not apply to correspondence between VALNES and its client or to documents already in the client's possession, either in original or copy. VALNES may make and retain copies or photocopies of documents returned by the company to the client.

 

13. Miscellaneous

 (1) Only German law shall apply to the order, its execution and the resulting claims.

(2) VALNES is entitled to keep the client, including the type of service provided, in a customer directory and to use this directory for reference and acquisition purposes, unless otherwise individually agreed.

(3) If provisions of the General Terms and Conditions of Assignment are invalid, the remaining provisions shall not be affected thereby. The parties undertake to replace the invalid provisions with economically equivalent provisions.

Allgemeine Auftragsbedingungen

1. Geltungsbereich


(1) Die Auftragsbedingungen gelten für die Verträge zwischen der VALNES Corporate Finance GmbH (nachfolgend „VALNES“ genannt) und ihren Auftraggebern, soweit nicht etwas anderes ausdrücklich schriftlich vereinbart oder gesetzlich zwingend vorgeschrieben ist.
(2) Werden im Einzelfall ausnahmsweise vertragliche Beziehungen auch zwischen VALNES und anderen Personen als dem Auftraggeber begründet, so gelten auch gegenüber solchen Dritten die Bestimmungen der nachstehenden Nr. 8.


2. Umfang und Ausführung des Auftrages


(1) Gegenstand des Auftrages ist die vereinbarte Leistung, nicht ein bestimmter wirtschaftlicher Erfolg. Der Auftrag wird mit angemessener Fach- und Sachkunde und unter Anwendung aktueller Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen ausgeführt. Die Auswahl der dienstleistenden Mitarbeiter (auch ob angestellt und/oder freie Mitarbeit) bleibt VALNES auch im Verlauf des Projektes vorbehalten, soweit die sach- und termingerechte Auftragserfüllung gewährleistet ist.
(2) Die Berücksichtigung ausländischen Rechts bedarf der ausdrücklichen schriftlichen Vereinbarung.
(3) Ereignisse höherer Gewalt, die VALNES die Leistung wesentlich erschweren oder unmöglich machen, berechtigen VALNES die Erfüllung ihrer Verpflichtungen um die Dauer der Behinderung und um eine angemessene Vorlaufzeit hinauszuschieben. Der höheren Gewalt stehen Streik, Aussperrungen und ähnliche Umstände, von denen VALNES mittelbar oder unmittelbar betroffen ist, gleich.


3. Aufklärungspflicht des Auftraggebers


(1) Der Auftraggeber hat dafür zu sorgen, dass VALNES auch ohne besondere Aufforderung alle für die Ausführung des Auftrages notwendigen Unterlagen rechtzeitig vorgelegt werden und VALNES von allen Vorgängen und Umständen Kenntnis gegeben wird, die für die Ausführung des Auftrages von Bedeutung sein können. Dies gilt auch für die Unterlagen, Vorgänge und Umstände, die erst während der Tätigkeit von VALNES bekannt werden.
(2) Auf Verlangen von VALNES hat der Auftraggeber die Vollständigkeit der vorgelegten Unterlagen und der gegebenen Auskünfte und Erklärungen in einer von VALNES formulierten schriftlichen Erklärung zu bestätigen.


4. Berichterstattung und mündliche Auskünfte


Ist zwischen VALNES und dem Auftraggeber vereinbart, dass die Ergebnisse der Tätigkeit von VALNES schriftlich darzustellen sind, so ist nur die schriftliche Darstellung maßgebend. Mündliche Erklärungen und Auskünfte von Mitarbeitern außerhalb des erteilten Auftrages sind stets unverbindlich.


5. Schutz des geistigen Eigentums


Von VALNES zur Verfügung gestellte Dokumente, Dokumentvorlagen, Formblätter, Arbeitsmittel, Dateien und Ähnliches dürfen vom Auftraggeber nur für seine eigenen Zwecke verwendet werden. VALNES ist berechtigt, allgemeine Ideen, Konzeptionen, Modelle und Erfahrungen beliebig weiter zu verwenden und Dritten zugänglich zu machen, ohne dass dadurch Lizenz- und Ausgleichsansprüche des Auftraggebers begründet werden oder die vereinbarte Vertraulichkeit verletzt wird.


6. Weitergabe von Gutachten und sonstigen schriftlichen Stellungnahmen


(1) Die Weitergabe von Äußerungen und Stellungnahmen von VALNES (Berichte, Gutachten, Präsentationen, Memos und dgl.) an einen Dritten bedarf der schriftlichen Zustimmung von VALNES, soweit sich nicht bereits aus dem Auftragsinhalt die Einwilligung zur Weitergabe an einen bestimmten Dritten ergibt. Gegenüber einem Dritten haftet VALNES (im Rahmen von Nr. 8) nur in den Fällen, wenn dies schriftlich vereinbart ist und der Dritte die Auftragsbedingungen anerkennt.
(2) Die Verwendung von Ergebnissen oder Äußerungen von VALNES zu Werbezwecken ist unzulässig; ein Verstoß berechtigt VALNES zur fristlosen Kündigung aller noch nicht durchgeführten Aufträge des Auftraggebers.


7. Mängelbeseitigung


(1) Bei etwaigen Mängeln hat der Auftraggeber Anspruch auf Nacherfüllung durch VALNES. Nur bei Fehlschlagen der Nacherfüllung kann er auch Herabsetzung der Vergütung oder Rückgängigmachung des Vertrages verlangen. Soweit darüber hinaus Schadensersatzansprüche bestehen, gilt Nr. 8.
(2) Der Anspruch auf Beseitigung von Mängeln muss vom Auftraggeber unverzüglich schriftlich geltend gemacht werden. Ansprüche nach Abs. 1, die nicht auf einer vorsätzlichen Handlung beruhen, verjähren nach Ablauf eines Jahres ab dem gesetzlichen Verjährungsbeginn.
(3) Offenbare Unrichtigkeiten, wie z. B. Schreibfehler, Rechenfehler und formelle Mängel, die in einer Stellungnahme oder anderen Äußerung (Bericht, Gutachten und dgl.) von VALNES enthalten sind, können jederzeit von VALNES auch Dritten gegenüber berichtigt werden. Unrichtigkeiten, die geeignet sind, enthaltene Ergebnisse in Frage zu stellen, berechtigen VALNES, die Äußerung auch Dritten gegenüber zurückzunehmen.


8. Haftung


(1) Die Haftungsbeschränkung von VALNES wird im Projektvertrag für den Einzelfall mit dem Auftraggeber individuell verhandelt.
(2) Ausschlussfristen
Ein Schadensersatzanspruch kann nur innerhalb einer Ausschlussfrist von einem Jahr geltend gemacht werden, nachdem der Anspruchsberechtigte von dem Schaden und von dem anspruchsbegründenden Ereignis Kenntnis erlangt hat, spätestens aber innerhalb von 5 Jahren nach dem anspruchsbegründenden Ereignis. Der Anspruch erlischt, wenn nicht innerhalb einer Frist von sechs Monaten seit der schriftlichen Ablehnung der Ersatzleistung Klage erhoben wird und der Auftraggeber auf diese Folge hingewiesen wurde. Das Recht, die Einrede der Verjährung geltend zu machen, bleibt unberührt.


9. Vertraulichkeit, Schweigepflicht gegenüber Dritten, Datenschutz


(1) VALNES ist verpflichtet, Betriebs- und Geschäftsgeheimnisse vertraulich zu behandeln und auch sonstige Kenntnisse und Informationen, soweit sie nicht offenkundig sind, nicht an Dritte weiterzugeben oder sonst zu verwenden, es sei denn, dass der Auftraggeber sie von dieser Schweigepflicht entbindet. VALNES wird ihren Mitarbeitern eine entsprechende Verpflichtung auferlegen. Die Verschwiegenheitspflicht bleibt auch nach Vertragsbeendigung erhalten.
(2) VALNES darf Berichte, Gutachten und sonstige schriftliche Äußerungen über die Ergebnisse ihrer Tätigkeit Dritten nur mit Einwilligung des Auftraggebers aushändigen.
(3) VALNES ist befugt, ihr anvertraute, personenbezogene Daten im Rahmen der Zweckbestimmung des Auftraggebers zu verarbeiten oder durch Dritte verarbeiten zu lassen.


10. Annahmeverzug und unterlassene Mitwirkung des Auftraggebers


Kommt der Auftraggeber mit der Annahme der von VALNES angebotenen Leistung in Verzug oder unterlässt der Auftraggeber eine ihm nach Nr. 3 oder sonst wie obliegende Mitwirkung, so ist VALNES zur fristlosen Kündigung des Vertrages berechtigt. Unberührt bleibt der Anspruch von VALNES auf Ersatz der durch den Verzug oder die unterlassene Mitwirkung des Auftraggebers entstandenen Mehraufwendungen sowie des verursachten Schadens, und zwar auch dann, wenn VALNES von dem Kündigungsrecht keinen Gebrauch macht.


11. Vergütung


(1) VALNES hat neben ihrer Gebühren- oder Honorarforderung Anspruch auf Erstattung ihrer Auslagen; die Umsatzsteuer wird zusätzlich berechnet. VALNES kann angemessene Vorschüsse auf Vergütung und Auslagenersatz verlangen und die Auslieferung ihrer Leistung von der vollen Befriedigung ihrer Ansprüche abhängig machen. Mehrere Auftraggeber haften als Gesamtschuldner.
(2) Eine Aufrechnung gegen Forderungen von VALNES auf Vergütung und Auslagenersatz ist nur mit unbestrittenen oder rechtskräftig festgestellten Forderungen zulässig.


12. Aufbewahrung und Herausgabe von Unterlagen


(1) VALNES bewahrt die im Zusammenhang mit der Erledigung eines Auftrages ihr übergebenen und von ihr selbst angefertigten Unterlagen sowie den über den Auftrag geführten Schriftwechsel zehn Jahre auf.
(2) Nach Befriedigung ihrer Ansprüche aus dem Auftrag hat VALNES auf Verlangen des Auftraggebers alle Unterlagen herauszugeben, die sie aus Anlass ihrer Tätigkeit für den Auftrag von diesem oder für diesen erhalten hat. Dies gilt jedoch nicht für den Schriftwechsel zwischen VALNES und ihrem Auftraggeber und für die Schriftstücke, die dieser bereits in Urschrift oder Abschrift besitzt. VALNES kann von Unterlagen, die die Gesellschaft an den Auftraggeber zurückgibt, Abschriften oder Fotokopien anfertigen und zurückbehalten.


13. Sonstiges


(1) Für den Auftrag, seine Durchführung und die sich hieraus ergebenden Ansprüche gilt nur deutsches Recht.
(2) VALNES ist berechtigt, den Kunden einschließlich der Art der erbrachten Leistung in einem Kundenverzeichnis zu führen und dieses für Referenz- und Akquisitionszwecke zu verwenden, soweit nichts anderes individuell vereinbart ist.
(3) Sind Vorschriften der Allgemeinen Auftragsbedingungen unwirksam, werden die übrigen Bestimmungen hierdurch nicht berührt. Die Parteien verpflichten sich, die unwirksamen Vorschriften durch wirtschaftlich gleichwertige zu ersetzen.